Topps Archives Review // Take My Cards

I tried to stop myself.  Really, I did.  I resisted the urge to stop by Target on my way home from work.  I avoided the card aisle on an inadvertent trip to Target with the family picking up housewares.  I convinced myself to indulge through others retail experience.

It worked.  For about a week.  Then I folded and bought one pack (seriously, only one) of 2012 Topps Archives.  When I first heard about this set I was excited.  Part of the set would be dedicated to the ’71 Topps design, my personal favorite.  Then I remembered it would be all glossy and not at all indicative of the great cardboardy feel of the true ’71 set.  I was less excited after this realization.

I then re-convinced myself it was cool and I should collect at least the cards from the set that mirrored the ’71 design.  So I bought the pack, and instantly regretted it.  Don’t get me wrong, the designs are cool.  You can’t go wrong with paralleling some of the top designed Topps base cards from the last 60 years.  1984, 1977, 1980, 1971 and 1954.

I opened my pack with anticipation, but was instantly bummed.  As much as I wanted to love the set, I couldn’t turn my malaise for Topps recent offerings around.  I even got a short print in my pack, but it was a 1992 Ron Gant redux.

Well, my disappointment can be your gain.  See all the cards below?

 

They can all be yours.  They are card #’s: 15 47 73 98 148 192 193 and 228.  Just leave a comment on this post.  If more than one person comments I’ll random the names at 7pm EDT tomorrow (5/31).

This entry was posted in What or Whom I Collect. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Topps Archives Review // Take My Cards

  1. I’ll take ‘em if no one else does…particularly for the Gant. Plus I’m building the base set…

  2. Phil says:

    I will gladly take the Pomeranz of your hands…

  3. I couls surely use #’s 98 and 148 as I am trying to complete the set.

  4. Dave15 says:

    I’ll take anything you have left over.

  5. mth83vt says:

    Okay guys. I randomed the names and Colbey is the lucky winner. Better luck next time to everyone else. Colbey, I’ll get the cards out to asap.

Comments are closed.