1971 Complete Set Accomplished

Allow me a moment to bask in the satisfaction that comes from a complete set. This one is all the more special as it is the first vintage set that I’ve been able to put together.

Here is the final card I needed and his place in the page that completed the set for me:

Palmer

Final Page

Here are a couple of my favorite pages as well:

Clemente Page

Banks page

Tough to go wrong with pages that include Mr. Cub and Clemente.

As I mentioned in a previous post, this set looks amazing in a binder. I’m contemplating which vintage set to go after next, but I doubt it will give me the same pleasure that the ’71 has. The classic look of the black border has me enamored.

Okay, I lied. I will probably chase the 1969 set next, so if anyone out there can help me out please visit my want page. Shameless plug for my own blog!

Additionally, I’m planning a contest as celebration of completing the set. Be on the look out in a day or two to see what I have for the winner as well as the contest entry itself.

Thank you to all who helped complete this set! I’m excited that 2013 will be the “Year of Vintage” across the blogosphere. (Disclaimer: 2013 may or may not actually be the “Year of Vintage”)

This entry was posted in 1971 and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1971 Complete Set Accomplished

  1. Congrats on completing what many, myself included, one of the (if not THE) best sets of the 70’s! How long have you been working on this set?

    I just completed 1977 (I’m slowly posting a few things I like from the set on my blog), and it, too, feels great. While I’m focusing on shoring up a few sets from 2011 and 2012, I believe my next vintage set will probably be 1972. But, maybe ’74. Not quite sure yet.

    ’71 has felt a bit out of my league. What condition are your cards in? I hear the 71’s chip quite a bit. I’d probably strive after a set of that year in EX condition, just eliminating creased cards from the hunt.

  2. 1967ers says:

    Congrats! That’s a great set to finish. I’m plugging away on 1971 OPC. My target date is “never.” 🙂

Comments are closed.