Joy of a completed page and contest

I believe I’m stealing the title of this post from an oft-used phrase in the card blogging community. I’m referring to the very first page in my binder of 1971 Topps. As some of you may be aware, I’m working my way to completion on the 1971 Topps offering. This will be the first vintage set I’ve completed when it is all said and done. I started off with a fairly decent starter set that I inherited from my Dad as my Mom was tired of it gathering dust their basement. (She is the opposite of a hoarder) At any rate, he was able to start me off with almost all of the ’71 SP’s and a good majority of the stars from the set. It will be nice at the end to not have to track down Clemente, Aaron, Killebrew, Mays, Brooks Robinson and Bob Gibson among others. I still need Johnny Bench, Nolan Ryan and Ron Santo among a few other star players, but the ’71 set doesn’t seem to command a huge premium for the star cards so I should be able to pick them up rather cheap.

I’m at about 62% completion for the set now after adding about 12 more cards this weekend from a local collectible shop in York, PA. I’ve got the first page of the binder filled, and you can see it in all it’s glory below.

The first 9 cards of the set offer a good amount of commentary. You’ve got the team picture of the 1970 World Champion Orioles. You’ve got the guy who threw a no-hitter while high on LSD. Also, Thurman Munson’s rookie cup card. The last card I needed to complete this page was #4 Vic Davalillo.

In honor of the completed page, I’ve decided to give back to the collecting world. Leave a comment on this post and I’ll enter you in the contest. Since this is my first contest, I’m going to keep it simple. No need to plug on your blog for any additional entries (although if you want to send extra readers my way, I won’t complain). I’ve got a few prizes in mind so I’ll probably pull out two winners (first and last result on a random.org randomization). I’ve got a really sweet unopened wax pack of 1990 Fleer for one lucky winner. I’ve also got a few auto’s/game used cards that don’t fit in my collection I need to dispense of, so good luck to all!

This entry was posted in 1971, What or Whom I Collect and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Joy of a completed page and contest

  1. Spankee says:

    Count me in. Those cards look great in pages.

  2. I’ll enter. Thanks for the contest!

  3. Ryan H says:

    Count me in! You definitely got a leg up on the set getting most stars and SP’s out of the way first.

  4. Ryan G says:

    Seeing horizontal and vertical cards like that help prove the fact that cards look better when they’re all horizontal or all vertical. Good luck finishing that sucker!

  5. The ’71 set is a classic – good luck with your hunt! That Munson is very well centered, by the way. Great vintage centerpiece card for the first page.

  6. night owl says:

    Good luck with the ’71s. I’m about a couple dozen cards away from completing it myself!

  7. Greg A says:

    I’ve got a decent Bench I can trade you. I’m down to Clemente, Vida Blue, Aaron, Tony Perez, and Aparicio.
    Starting the ’70 and ’72 sets myself. Lists at loqtus.webs.com
    Email = QAPLAGCA at yahoo
    Greg A

  8. Dan says:

    Cool….thanks! Good luck with those high numbers, they’re an experience.

  9. Awesome! Thanks for the contest.

  10. Jeff Laws says:

    Count me in, Thanks for the contest..

  11. I never met a contest I didn’t like!

  12. Dude!

    hey, I still have several ’71s here, including some higher #s…

  13. Congrats on the completed page!

  14. dgreen1899 says:

    1971 is a really tough set. Good luck in finishing it. I have a partial 1969 set that I eventually will work on completing.

  15. Matt says:

    I love the feeling of completing some section of a tough set, whether it’s a page, cards 1-100, or just any part where you can feel like you might actually eventually complete the whole thing. Count me in for the contest.

  16. Pingback: Anybody like hockey? | Card Anathema

  17. Anthony Hughes says:

    Congratulations on filling in page 1!

  18. Ooooohhh! Contests rock, keep it up!

  19. I like your first page there… I’m working on the ’71 OPC set myself…

    but dear lord no more ’90 Fleer…..

  20. mth83vt says:

    Contest Closed.

    Randoming the winners here in a few minutes

Comments are closed.