2012 Topps Heritage Blaster Review

It has been quite some time since I opened any new product.  That changed on Wednesday when I stopped by my local Target to see if any of the ’12 Topps Heritage had hit the shelves there yet.  To my surprise, it had, so I obliged.

I haven’t been a huge fan of the yearly Heritage releases since I got back in to collecting.  That said, I got excited for 2012 Heritage anyway and indulged in a little cardboard therapy.  At the very least, I’m hoping this review will either keep one more cardboard addict from going and making a needless purchase, or will put someone on the fence about whether or not to buy clearly in the “going to buy” category.  I do not plan on chasing the set, so what words shall transpire in this somewhat rambling blog post should be a non-biased, impartial look at Topps using their cards designed 49 years ago to once again rake in more profits.  Think about it, how beautiful is this marketing gimmick.  They have to spend zero time, zero effort, and zero dollars in to designing a new set or release.  Pure genius.

Today I’ll review the inserts from my box of 8 packs, 9 cards per pack.  I may get around to posting a review of the base set, but then again you could just go back to my blog post from 49 years ago to see my thoughts on the ’63 base set.  My first pack looked like this:

And in my first pack was this:

This years offering of the Clubhouse Collection relics.  A very simple design that still utilizes the player in the color circle.  I was hoping to pull some sort of hit from my blaster box and the first pack delivered.  I was also somewhat excited because even though B.J. is not a player or team I collect, I know a few bloggers who either collect the Upton’s or the Rays, so I should not have too much trouble unloading this in a trade.  (as an aside, all cards that are shown in this and any future ’12 Heritage post are for trade/sale/giveaways, let me know if you have any interest in anything shown)  Once again, I like the Clubhouse Collection set because of the simple design.  I also like how whether intended or not, the relic square is turned 45° resembling a base.

My next pack included this little guy:

I also later pulled a Halladay stick-on.  Quite the Philadelphia “hot box” of stick-on’s.  Once again, since Topps is just recycling a set from 49 years in the past, they included stickers that mimic those from the ’63 set.  There are 46 total to collect if you are in to that sort of thing.  I, am not.  If no one wants the Pence or the Halladay stickers, I’ll probably give them to my kids as they love stickers.  Who am I kidding, ALL kids love stickers.

Chrome variations also return to this years set, numbered out of 1963 this year.  My blaster included one:

Pedroia keeps showing up in packs I open.  This is a variation that did not appear in the original 1963 Topps set, so kudos to Topps for firing up the chroming machines to beef up the set.  The one thing I liked about the Chrome variation is that while the front is all chromey, the back maintains the old school cardboardy feel, which is nice.  If anyone has a Cubbie or Pirate to trade for old Dustin there, let me know.

My packs included two inserts:


I liked opening the Heritage packs because I knew at the outset that each pack wasn’t going to be overloaded with different inserts that I have no desire to chase.  In addition, the inserts are only seeded every 12 or 15 packs so much harder for complete set chasers to find, but much nicer if you are simply in the game to open a few packs or a blaster.

The final insert that I find in my packs was this red cheater guy:

Since I purchased my blaster at Target, I received one of the red parallels.  Had I purchased this at Wal-Mart, Braun would’ve been bordered in blue.  These parallel inserts are limited to just 25 cards, so it would make it much less daunting to a complete set chaser.

Once again, I have no need for this or any card from the blaster, so feel free to make any offer.

Overall impressions for me are somewhat favorable as even though I do not plan to complete this set, I may open a few more packs or another blaster.  The blasters are an even better value than in years past, at least in my area of Northern VA, because the retail price on a single pack is now $3.19 which would make the equivalent 8 card loose purchase 25.52 before tax.  Buy a blaster and you save greater than $5 right off the bat (pun somewhat intended).  Not to mention the odds seem much better of pulling a hit out of a blaster as you can avoid the dreaded pack searchers.

This entry was posted in What or Whom I Collect. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 2012 Topps Heritage Blaster Review

  1. Chunter says:

    What kind of legalese does Topps have on the back of that Upton “relic?” 🙂

Comments are closed.